Day 99

by markvnathan

My Dearest Xxxxxxxx,

I spent the night in good company once again. I value these moments greatly. A break from my mind, a break from my thoughts of you. I realise now, being on my own only makes things harder, it only makes me miss you more. I made the mistake of making you the very person I needed most. The center of my universe, the very force that is my life.

Surely, regardless of what happened between us, I should have seen this coming. I should have seen my vulnerability come to pierce my side. The fault however is mine and mine alone.

You released my heart. You were my key and my shield. Your comfort, allowed me to open up, your smile, took the fear from me. Your embrace allowed me to release my darkness, my cold ambitions, my faults. I had never felt so at peace.

With you, I wanted to share my achievements, my disappointments, my anguish. I am not perfect, I can’t be. But you made me want to be the best that I could have been.

I end with this. Tho I was left in the cold, I did not shiver. For the warmth of your heart gave me hope for tomorrow. That hope, I look for once more.

 

Yours Always,

Mark