Day 69

by markvnathan

My Dearest Xxxxxxxx,

I promised you as I promised myself. I will fix everything and I will come back better than ever. I need to do what needs to be done. I need to be a man on my own. I need to stand on my own two feet again, by myself, without you.

Don’t stray far. Trust me, as I have trusted you. I won’t ask anything more of you. Just this.

I do this for myself, not for you, not for anyone else. Only when I’m at my strongest, will I ever be ready to face my biggest fear, to overcome my biggest challenge. Myself.

I will not beat myself up any longer. I will give myself the respect I deserve. I will be better, stronger, smarter. I will fight my own battles again, be the king of the battlefield. I will conquer all of that which life so frequently flaunts in my face.

I’ve had my last drink. I’ve had my last cigarette.  Trust me, as I have trusted you. I will slip up, I will fall, but I will always come back stronger. I will always come back to You.

This is my promise to you. This is a promise I make to myself.

Yours Always,

Mark

