Day 53

by markvnathan

My Dearest Xxxxxxxx,

I went to meet a friend last night. In what felt like years, we reconnected and I truly enjoyed his company. His personality, like a well aged cigar, a rare single malt. His understanding, his strength, one to admire. One that I admire.

He’s one of those friends, the kind that you could spend years apart, but feel like it was just yesterday, when you ran down the hallways screaming like there was no tomorrow. The mischief, the fun we had, a side of me you’ve never seen.

He will probably tell you more about me, maybe he won’t. He could tell you what I’ve become, maybe he might not.

So I sit here, swirling the icy rocks in my whiskey glass, like I do, every night. I stare into the night sky and I wonder, as I always do. I stare into the night sky, as I think about you.

I miss you, oh so much. But I need you now, only as much as you need me. I’m getting better, I can stand without support, I can walk without guidance, I can sleep without fear.

Yours Always,

Mark

