Day 52

by markvnathan

My Dearest Xxxxxxxx,

We laughed again today, like nothing in the world mattered. You and me, saving the world, making things right. And then we talked, like nothing had changed, just us, You and me.

And for what felt like the first time ever, you let your guard down. You were very much that girl I knew, the girl my heart beats for, the girl that made my dreams for the shortest of times, a reality.

You are my weakness, my strength, the reason for my downfall, my uprising. You’ve been a piece of kryptonite, stuck inside my chest. I am conscious as I pull the shrapnel out, piece by piece.

No matter how much I take out, you’re still there. And the pain, I feel it no more. The pain, I substitute with joy. Joy from the smiles, the giggles, the honesty that you share with me.

It’s these moments I cherish, it’s these moments, I wish never existed. For they give me hope. So I lay my head to rest, maybe I’ll sleep easy tonight, I hope I do.

Yours Always,

Mark

